Good Night, and Good Luck

This past Monday night I attended a showing of the movie “Good Night, and Good Luck” hosted by the University of Alabama’s Society of Professional Journalists. After wandering around the communication building also known as Reese Phifer for what felt like one hundred years, I finally found people who knew where the ICIR theatre room was! I walked inside and was somewhat surprised that there were only a few people sitting in the room waiting for the movie to start.

I had never heard of “Good Night, and Good Luck” until that very moment so I was eager to see what it was going to be about. The first thing that caught my attention in the film? George Clooney, obviously. The second thing that caught my attention was that it was most definitely set in the 1950s because of the way people were dressed and the fact that they were discussing threats of Communism.

As the story line progressed, I gathered that this movie was about a CBS reporter named Edward Murrow and he was attempting to reveal Senator Joseph McCarthy as one of the main people in charge of causing America to live in such great fear of Communism. Murrow and his team fought to expose and show America who Senator McCarthy truly was. Watching “Good Night, and Good Luck” was definitely a learning experience for me because up until now I had no idea who Edward Murrow was or the effects he had on the world of broadcast journalism.

About kewestrich

I am a freshman and a social work major at the University of Alabama!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment